Where I work…jealous?

Sorry for the long time, no post! Birding, and outdoors in general, has been a rare luxury lately…because it gets down to 17 degrees over here in the South Bay! And it feels like it doesn’t warm up much (because I’m a Californian)! Today, however, I got to spend some time in my natural habitat, sitting by the pond next to my place of work, watching the birds.  A kingfisher alerted my arrival to surrounding birds. He was pissed. The pond is swarming with great egrets, with snowy egrets filling in the blanks, trying to blend into the crowd. Mallards, ruddy ducks, coots and cormorants land in or take off from the pond dramatically like cessnas. Occasionally, you might see a gentle giant, a great blue heron fly by, low and quietly over the water and I think by the end of my stay on the bank of the pond, the resident fox at the pond was silently watching me. #southbaybirds #egrets #mountumunhum

snowy egret
snowy egret
great egret
great egret
Mt. Umhunhum
Mt. Umhunhum
great egret into the shot
great egret into the shot

IMG_1792

great blue heron off in the distance
great blue heron off in the distance